Tooro Kingdom

Tooro is a constitutional monarchy and one of the five traditional kingdoms.

The current Omukama (King) of Tooro is His Majesty Oyo Nyimba Kabamba Iguru Rukidi IV. The people native to the kingdom are called Batooro and their language is called Rutooro.

Tooro Kingdom was founded in 1822 when Omukama Kaboyo Olimi I, the eldest son of Omukama of Bunyoro Nyamutukura Kyebambe III of Bunyoro, seceded and established his own independent kingdom. Tooro Kingdom was part of the large empire of Kitara, under the reign of the Babiito dynasty, which dates back to the 16th century.

Batoro believe that legendary Tembuzi kings created the earliest centralized political organization in the area and that these people were succeeded by the Cwezi and then by the Bito—a Nilotic people who had come from the north. Led by Prince Kaboyo, the Toro seceded from the Bito-ruled Bunyoro kingdom about 1830. Royal regalia were received from the Bunyoro rulers, and, as Kaboyo consolidated and extended his kingdom, he gained Bito support. In the late 1880s the Bunyoro king Kabarega temporarily reconquered the Toro. A Toro prince escaped and was restored to the Toro throne by British colonizers in the 1890s in exchange for loyalty, taxation, and the cession of forest and mineral rights to British concerns. During colonial times, the Toro kingdom was a subordinate, African local government.

The Batooro have got a strong cultural naming system (PET NAME) known as Empaako. With the Empaako naming system, children are given one of twelve names shared across the communities in addition to their given and family names. Addressing someone by his or her Empaako is a positive affirmation of cultural ties. It can be used as a form of greeting or a declaration of affection, respect, honour or love. The use of Empaako can defuse tension or anger and sends a strong message about social identity and unity, peace and reconciliation.

There are about 10 clans are active with the Tooro Kingdom activities. These Clans include; Abalisa, Abibiito, Abagweri, Ababbopi, Abasumbi among others.

Food

Millet, plantains, cassava, and yams are grown, while wheat, cotton, and coffee are raised as cash crops; fish are traded as well. Toro also received tax benefits from the Kilembe copper mines

DressCode

Batooro wear the Suuka, each of the 3 pieces of the suuka is made from a different material. The material wrapped around the shoulders and the dress is made of silk. Most women usually prefer sari over silk because of its simplicity and easy maintenance. The kitambi which is wrapped around the waist is usually made of satin and for a more classy and beautiful look, a net matching the colours of the kitambi is sewn on top of it. It is usually a wrapper but for comfort purposes, most women these days prefer it tailored as a skirt.

KINGS OF TOORO

The list of the kings of Tooro is as follows:

- 1. Olimi I: 1822 1865
- 2. Ruhaga of Tooro: 1865 1866

- 3. Nyaika Kyebambe I: 1866 1871 and 1871 1872
- 4. Rukidi I: 1871 1871
- 5. Olimi II: 1872 1875
- 6. Rukidi II: 1875 1875
- 7. Rububi Kyebambe II: 1875 and 1877 1879
- 8. Kakende Nyamuyonjo: 1875 1876 and 1879 1880
- 9. Katera: 1876 1877 Followed by Interregnum, reverted to Bunyoro: 1880 1891
- 10. Kyebambe III: 1891 1928
- 11. Rukidi III: 1929 1965
- 12. Olimi III: 1965 1995. Interrupted by Interregnum: 1967 1993
- 13. Rukidi IV: 1995 to date

References

- <u>http://kingoyo.africa</u>
- <u>https://www.britannica.com/topic/Toro-people</u>
- https://www.jstor.org/stable/24520247?seq=1#metadata info tab contents
- <u>https://partiesenevents.com/the-batooro-traditional-wear-the-suuka/</u>

٠