Share this
All Posts

Mayuge district is located in the Eastern region of Uganda, with its headquarters at Mayuge Town Council, 120 km from Kampala. The district which was established by Act of Parliament in 2000 has a total population of 473, 239. The language commonly spoken here is Lusoga.


 It’s bordered by Iganga to the North, Jinja to the West, Bugiri to the East and Lake Nalubaale (commonly referred to as “Victoria) in the South.  Mayuge district shares Lake Nalubaale’s border with Mukono, Bugiri and Jinja districts.


Majority of the population depends on agriculture for a living. With two rainy seasons per year, the people are able to produce most crops grown in Uganda including bananas,  coffee, fish, cassava, yams, maize and beans. Peri urban farmers are also engaged in poultry keeping, while other people grow sugarcane and sell it to sugar producers Kakira Sugar Works and Mayuge Sugar Industries Ltd.  Populations living by the lake shores have taken up fishing as an economic activity. Stats in Mayuge


Tourists in Mayuge may can check out the islands on Lake Nalubaale’s shoreline where they’ll find sand beaches, granitic and lateritic rock formations. The Busikwira shrines in Mpungwe subcounty are believed to be the origin of the first Muganda, Kintu. Statistics on Mayuge