Divisions of the High Court

Share this
All Posts

Divisions of the High Court

The High Court of Uganda is located at Plot 2, The Square Kampala.

The High Court has the following eight divisions: 

(a) Anti-Corruption Division 

The Anti-Corruption Division of the High Court was established in July 2008 as a special division to adjudicate corruption and corruption related cases. The Division is located at Plot 8 Mabua Road, Kololo, Kampala.


(b) Civil Division 

The functions of the Division include: Hearing appeal cases from the Magistrates’ courts in connection with torts committed against the person, defamation, bankruptcy and company winding up matters, among other matters. It is located on the first floor of Twed towers, along Kafu Road, Nakasero.


(c) Commercial Division 

The Commercial Court was established in 1996 as the division of the High Court devoted to hearing and determining commercial disputes with current jurisdiction. It handles cases pertaining to: company causes, bankruptcy, and intellectual property. It is located at Plot 14, Lumumba Avenue, Nakasero.


 (d) Criminal Division 

The Criminal Division is responsible for hearing all serious criminal offences, e.g. murder, manslaughter, rape etc., referred to it by the Magistrates’ Courts. It is located on the second floor of High Court Building at Plot 2, the Square.


(e) Execution and Bailiffs Division 

The Division handles all matters relating to the enforcement of court orders, execution of court decisions and to regulate the operations of Court Bailiffs in execution of the Court process in Uganda. The division is located at Plot 3, Portal Avenue, Kampala.


(f) Family Division 

The Family Division was created in April 2005. It handles administration causes, family causes such as adoption, guardianship, maintenance etc., among other matters. The Family Division shares premises with Makindye Chief Magistrates’ Court at Mobutu Road.


(g) International Crimes Division 

It is a special Division of High Court of Uganda which was established in July 2008. It deals will serious crimes such as war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, terrorism, among others. The Division is located at Plot 8 Mabua Road, Kololo, Kampala.


(h) Land Division

The Division is charged with the following functions:

  • Responsibility of supervising the work of Land Tribunals.
  • The adjudication of all land related dispute fall under this Division.

It is located on the second floor of Twed Towers, along Kafu Road, Nakasero, Kampala.


Most of the business of the High Court is conducted at its headquarters in Kampala, but with the decentralization of the High Court, its services are now obtained at its High Court circuits namely: (this can be illustrated by a map of Uganda with a pinpoint in each of these cities)


  1. Arua High Court 
  2. Fort Portal High Court 
  3. Gulu High Court 
  4. Hoima High Court 
  5. Iganga High Court 
  6. Jinja High Court 
  7. Kabale High Court
  8. Lira High Court
  9. Luwero High Court
  10. Masaka High Court
  11. Masindi  High Court
  12. Mbarara High Court
  13. Mbale High Court
  14. Moroto High Court
  15. Mpigi High Court
  16. Mubende High Court
  17. Mukono High Court
  18. Rukungiri High Court
  19. Soroti High Court
  20. Tororo High Court